List of wars and anthropogenic disasters by death toll

Wikipedia

List of wars and anthropogenic disasters by death toll

This Wikipedia site,  is fascinating!  One of the most interesting I have seen.    Kudos to the individual/s who put so much work and study into this work.  Wow!

I don’t mean to be so macabre, but then we historians love blood and drama.

I could make a whole curriculum just researching each of these events.  I have never heard of many of them: Lushan Rebellion? Conquests of Timur? possible 100 million deaths during American colonization?

I like the tables as they report high and low estimates.  Great footnotes for me to explore.  It gives an excellent opportunity for me and my students to evaluate the sources.

Aw! So much to read and learn and so little time. 😉

Also, check out this interesting blog: Statistics fon Violent Conflict by Filip Spagnoli.

Do you think there is more or less violence in the 20th and 21st centuries compared to other centuries?

 
Watch this T.E.D. talk.  See what Steven Pinker says.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

